The current system, International Classification of Diseases, 9th Edition, Clinical Modification (ICD-9-CM), does not provide the necessary detail for patients’ medical conditions or the procedures and services performed on hospitalized patients. The new classification system provides significant improvements through greater detailed information and the ability to expand in order to capture additional

Advancement in clinical medicine. ICD-10-CM/PCS consists of two parts:

ICD-10-CM – The diagnosis classification system developed by the Centres for

Disease Control and Prevention for use in all U.S. healthcare treatment

settings. Diagnosis coding under this system uses 3–7 alpha and numeric digits

and full code titles, but the format is very much the same as ICD-9-CM. It replaced volume I and II of ICD-9-CM.

ICD-10-PCS – The procedure classification system developed by the Centres for

Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) for use in the U.S. for inpatient hospital

setting only. The new procedure coding system uses 7 alpha or numeric digits

while the ICD-9-CM coding system uses 3 or 4 numeric digits. It replaced Volume III of ICD-9-CM.

The compliance date for implementation of the International Classification of Diseases, 10th Edition, Clinical Modification/Procedure Coding System (ICD-10-CM/PCS) was supposed to be on October 1, 2013 for all covered entities; however the implementation dates have been delayed since 2013 and now the expected implementation date is October 01, 2015. ICD-10-CM/PCS will enhance accurate payment for services rendered and facilitate evaluation of medical processes and outcomes. A number of other countries have already moved to ICD-10, including:

  • United Kingdom (1995);

  • France (1997)

  • Australia (1998)

  • Germany (2000)

  • Canada (2001)